HM Hubbard Law Scholarship
Special thanks to the

Rachel J. Roche

A tour around the 5th with Mme. Lazerges 17th - 19th Jan 2013

Catherine & Esmeralda outside the Sorbonne (the old university of Paris)

« Back to Album Photo 4 of 58 Previous | Next
Catherine & Esmeralda outside the Sorbonne (the old university of Paris)
The University of Paris (French: Université de Paris) was a university in Paris, France, and one of the earliest to be established in Europe. It was founded in the middle of the 12th century and was officially recognized as a university from between 1160 and 1250 approximately. After many changes, including a century of suspension (from 1793 to 1896), it ceased to exist in 1970, and thirteen autonomous universities were created at the same time to succeed it. The university is often referred to as the Sorbonne or la Sorbonne, after the collegiate institution (Collège de Sorbonne) founded around 1257 by Robert de Sorbon, although the university was never completely centered on the Sorbonne. Of the thirteen current successor universities, four have premises in the historical Sorbonne building, and three of them include "Sorbonne" in their names. The universities in Paris are now independent from each other, and some of them fall within the Créteil or Versailles education authorities instead of the Parisian one. Some residual administrative functions of the thirteen universities are formally supervised by a common chancellor, the rector of the Paris education authority, whose offices are in the Sorbonne.
Posted by Rachel J Roche on January 19, 2013 Full Size

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In